Hi people!
I am looking forward to some very interesting projects in 2017.

The latest Passport CD “Doldinger” has recently been awarded a golden record as best-selling Jazz CD in Germany 2016. We’ll be playing some nice venues this year such as the Prinzregententheater in Munich, the Philharmonie Cologne and many others. We’ll occasionally be working together with artists like Max Mutzke, Kollegah...

I am very thrilled about the fact that the band Zappelbude will reunite this year. Can’t wait to put on my funky boots again and share the stage with such awesome musicians like Tony Lakatos – saxophone, Wolfgang Haffner – drums, Roberto Gigioia – keyboards and Martin Scales – guitar.

I also have the great pleasure to perform with my new band Scales & The Funky Brotherhood. It features some very fine musicians: Christian Lettner – drums, Matthias Bublath – keyboards, Adriano Prestel – vocals and Raphael Huber – saxophone. It certainly is going to be a lot of fun!

It will be exiting to be on the road again with my favourite British singer and composer Ola Onabule and play electric and double bass in his band.

In spring time the band Groove Galaxy will release its debut album and will play concerts in and around Southern Germany.
I will also be performing throughout the year with the band Chop Gelado to present our newly released CD “Places, Faces, Traces”.

As every year, I will be teaching at the International Jazz Workshop Erlangen.

I hope to see you at on one of the shows.
Wishing you happiness and peace.

Recent Releases

Passport Doldinger

Release date: May 2016, Warner
Klaus Doldinger - saxophone
Michael Hornek - piano, keys
Martin Scales - guitar
Patrick Scales - bass
Ernst Ströer - percussion
Biboul Darouiche - percussion
Christian Lettner - drums
Special guests:
Udo Lindenberg, Max Mutzke, Sasha, Nils Landgren, Dominic Miller, Helge Schneider, Curt Cress, Wolfgang Schmid, Roberto DiGioia

Chop Gelado Places, Traces, Faces

Release date: August 2016.
Paulo Alves - vocals, acoustic guitar
Tom Rheinbrecht - saxophone
Matthias Bublath - piano, organ, rhodes
Patrick Scales - bass
Thomas Simmerl - drums
Eugen Bazijan, Mario Korunic - strings
Dirk Janoske, Florian Jechlinger, Janine Schrader - horns
Lipa Majstrovic, Petra Scheeser, Margit Silay, Ron VanLankeren - background vocals

Pee Wee Ellis The Spirit of Christmas

In the studio with Pee Wee Ellis
Pee Wee Ellis - tenor saxophone
Gary Winters - trumpet
Fred Wesley - trombone
Jason Rebello - piano
Tony Remy - guitar
Patrick Scales - bass
Guido May - drums
Lillian Boutté - vocals
Clare Teal - vocals
Lisa Bassange - vovals
Peter Fessler - vocals